Extreme Knitting

When I was wandering around my local hardware store a couple of weeks ago, in amongst all the other things, I found a couple of broomsticks and immediately thought that what I needed to try next was a spot of extreme knitting!

I took them home and used a craft knife to sharpen the ends a little (I really need a giant pencil sharpener if anyone knows where to buy one?)

image

And then holding 5 strands of wool together, cast on.

image

I used a simple pattern of k2, p2 and just carried on knitting.

image

I love the effect of the rib, and it only took about a week of evenings to knit a blanket big enough to snuggle under. I used about 7 100g balls of wool in the end, so I think if you were making a single bed sized blanket you’d need about 10 balls. I used Stylecraft Special DK, which is my favourite yarn for experimenting in as it’s very good quality for a low price and knits/crochets up beautifully.

image

I think I’m sold on the whole idea of extreme knitting, especially because due to the weight of the broomsticks and the yarn, it also has the added bonus of toning up your upper body at the same time! A win win situation in my eyes.

I do have another project on the huge needles now, watch this space soon for an update.

3 thoughts on “Extreme Knitting

  1. I saw an article somewhere about blankets knitted on PVC pipes as big around as my arm. I can’t remember the hat the “yarn” was but the finished product was pretty cool!

    Like

    1. I saw something similar too, but the yarn used was made from wool roving. Sadly I couldn’t find huge bags of it in the UK so thought I’d use multiple strands of yarn together to achieve a slightly different style of blanket. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment